www.homeseer.com  
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Home Automation Hardware > Electronic Circuits and Hardware Modifications

Electronic Circuits and Hardware Modifications This forum is for discussing electronic circuits, and hardware modifications pertaining to all things home related.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 14th, 2009, 09:46 AM
rsisson rsisson is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 393
Default Anyone Hacked Add-a-motor curtain motor?

I like the Add-a-motor thing as it is an order of magnatude cheeper than ANY of the other Curtain controllers, but I hate the TOGGLE open/close.

Has anyone figured out how to use relays to be able to send separate "OPEN" and "CLOSE" commands?


Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 14th, 2009, 02:28 PM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,666
Default

Bob, Is this a new curtain controller?

Steve Q
__________________
Homeseer Pro 2.5.0.81-HSTouch-iPad Client-iTouch Client--W800 ACRF2--Cheaper RFID(transmitter&receiver)--mcsXAP 2.3--USBUIRT--TEMP08--1WireSwitch--xapmcs1wire 3.0.4.7 -- xapmcsDatabase 1.3--TI103--lots of X10 & xAP stuff --Z-stick(Aeon)--GE z-wave modules--Trane z-wave thermostat.....284 devices -- 659 events
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 14th, 2009, 04:28 PM
rsisson rsisson is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 393
Default

Add-a-motor is just that, a motor you can add to an existing curtain to "automate" it. It attaches to the curtain pull cord loop and will pull either side for a specific distance.

A very simple inexpensive add-on.
https://www.smarthome-products.com/p...ontroller.aspx

It has two (and a half) issues...

  • It is DUMB. It reverses each time you apply power to it. If you apply power it will pull for a particular distance and then stop. Turn off power and then power it again (think appliance module) it will pull in the oposite direction the same distance and then stop. Works great unless you have a "hickup" which will get it out of sync from where you think it is.
  • I "slips" quite a bit, so it may not always open/close the drape the entire way... It has to attach to the existing curtain pull loop by friction... not the best approach
  • (the half issue) It is LOUD
What I want is to cut it open and find a way to trip a relay for OPEN, If it is open and I send an OPEN nothing happens. Another set of contacts for CLOSE. Again, if it is closed and I send a CLOSE nothing happens...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 14th, 2009, 05:03 PM
Wadenut's Avatar
Wadenut Wadenut is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,044
Default

I've used these for som years now on a large (heavy) vertical blind.
I found you need to have the cord tensioned enough to prevent slipping, but not too tight or the shaft will break.
Mine doesn't reverse until it's reached the stop at either end, no matter how many times I turn it on or off. That problem is likely related to the slip and adding logic to the motor probably won't help. I think you'd need to add DS10s (or like) to the drapery itself to determine actual position. Perhaps even remove the stops so slip wouldn't be a factor.
hmm, thinking of that, one would be able to control the drape to multiple positions.

For status, I use a virtual device (On=Open, Off=Closed) and worked a long time on a script to make sure the blind doesn't get out of sync. The script is run by Dawn/Dusk, Occupation + Season + Time of day, Remote Control or via VR.
__________________
Automate everything, modify the rest... but remember... For every action, there is an equal and unexpected reaction.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 23rd, 2012, 05:09 AM
Eddiie's Avatar
Eddiie Eddiie is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 266
Default

Yes, I hacked the add-a-motor. Added limit switches.

See attached picture

Big pain in the butt. I will be making a post about it soon.

Works great with the DBMZ.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 PM.

Untitled Document
NEW!
New Products


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC