Which Thermostat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which Thermostat

I am installing a homeseer system in a new home. the home is geothermal, two units, 3ton and 2 ton, and would like to get remotely controlled, programmable thermostats. the geo units are three stage heating, two stage cooling. there are 48 1-wire temperature sensors throughout the house, which the homeseer will monitor. Any recommendations on brands, models, reliability?
    any comments are welcome
    thanks
    Bill Murphy

I use the RCS RS485 TR40 thermostats. I've found the units to be very reliable and easy to use.

http://www.resconsys.com/products/stats/serial.htm

My units are interfaced to a Stargate, which connects to HS through a plug-in. There is a plug-in to connect them directly to HS, but I have no experience with it. I also do not use the 3-stage capability, but based on my experience I would expect it to work well.
    Mike____________________________________________________________ __________________
    HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.548, NUC i3

HW: Stargate | NX8e | CAV6.6 | Squeezebox | PCS | WGL 800RF | RFXCOM | Vantage Pro | Green-Eye | Edgeport/8 | Way2Call | Ecobee3 | EtherRain | Ubiquiti

Comment

I own 2 RCS 2Way X10 tstats but only because I couldn't run cables for them but for the money and options and looks the HAI tstats can't be beat.
      💁‍♂️ Support & Customer Service 🙋‍♂️ Sales Questions 🛒 Shop HomeSeer Products

Comment

I am using the Aprilaire 8870, this is a great thermostat and works flawlessly with HS. I've been using it for over a month now with 0 issues and 0 hicups. Aprilaire claims this stat will work with all hvac equipment.

I have 1 of these at the moment, it is connected to a 8811 Protocal Adapter which connects directly to a serial port (or usb converter in my case) on the hs server. Running 2 stats would probably require the addition of a 8818 Dist Panel.
        HS Install Date: Feb. 16, 2007