Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help pick weather plugin

Hello,
    I am very new to HA in general and have been a proud owner of the new HomeTroller Pro Series 3 for a few days now

The idea of setting events based on weather changes has always held a fairly high appeal to me. Unfortunately, I have no idea where to start...

I do not really need to see the current temperature and forecast for my home: I already have 5 weather apps on the iPhone that tell me those! In addition, there is a button in the HSTouch iPhone app from HomeSeer that does exactly that: pull forecast based on the zip code in settings.

What I am looking for is fairly basic: temperature and precipitation (type and amount) forecast / current conditions that HomeTroller could use as event triggers.

I downloaded and installed that WeatherXML plugin from the updater. After restarting the controller, I was surprised that despite my home Maryland zip code being in settings, the weather shown was for Kansas Then, after searching through forums, I found out that I have to register with Weather.com and get ID, followed by some other (quite hazy to me) configurations within HSPro software itself. Then, some more tinkering with code if I wanted the weather to scroll, or show up on specific page, etc.

All of this has brought back memories of my early attempts at web site design back in 90s... Not something I want to do now. Not at all.

I am looking for a simple install-enter location-choose settings-done solution, which, in my opinion, what a plugin -- any plugin-- should be.

Is everything really that difficult with HomeSeer? Have I made a mistake in choosing a company for my HA needs? I don't mind wiring the house and replacing switches/lamps/openers to enable Z-wave interactivity. But I have no desire to troubleshoot code.

So... sorry for rambling. Quite frustrated, having to spend way too much time on Google looking for solutions.