Ideas for radio monitoring ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ideas for radio monitoring ...

I don't use the voice activation portion of HomeSeer for automation. Since I'm not using it for automation, I'm trying to find a way of using it for radio monitoring. Here's the plan:

Fire Radio dispatches a call
    \/
    HomeSeer Voice Control
    \/
    Trigger on dispatch tone
    \/
    Then trigger on key words
    \/
    If a match, send an email with the textual content of the call

I hadn't mentioned it, but I'm an on-call firefighter. I reviewed the integration that the other firefighter in Australia did, but his system (both HomeSeer and Fire Dispatch) is different, so it won't work for me.

Would this flow work? If so, do I need any additional software pieces (I'm on HSPRO) or hardware?

Thanks in advance!

Mike

So you have a radio that sits silent until it blurts out a fire code? I'm not sure there is a way to interface with this hardware. I did something somewhat similar with my mailbox alert. The device sends out a tone when the mail box is opened. I connected a powerflash module to the speaker of this device. The device can detect the voltage change and sends an X10 signal to HomeSeer indicating that the mail has arrived.
    💁‍♂️ Support & Customer Service 🙋‍♂️ Sales Questions 🛒 Shop HomeSeer Products

Comment

Yeah, Rupp ... the radio will issue a high pitched tone ... then after a short pause, the dispatcher will start speaking.

On the hardware side, I imagined I would plug a USB microphone into the HS computer and set the fire radio right in front of the microphone. It's a little low-rent, but I can get the audio into the machine that way.

Thoughts?

Comment

Originally posted by SkizzlePig View Post
        Yeah, Rupp ... the radio will issue a high pitched tone ... then after a short pause, the dispatcher will start speaking.