lost newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

lost newbie

I am a lost newbie with 27 days left on trial I would really like so see some of the more simple functions of HS in action. I need to show my girl some justification for spending money on this.

My plan is to pick up the starter kit when my trial period ends. So I will not be using any x-10 or z-wave products to utilize devices in conjunction with hs.

I am very confused and really do not understand HS. I do not really understand why there is not a user manual, tutorial, or lessons. basically what I mean is not a single aspect of HS is out of the box ready.

Except for you say "computer" HS responds "Yes sir"

I have found the the help option to be difficult to use.

I know many responses will be everything you need is here on the BB however as I read hour after hour it is experianced ursers conversing with other experianced users.

I have looked through all the scritping section of the help section however again I found this difficult due to the fact i really didnt even know what a script was until I discovered HS.

I now understand the general concepts of scripts and how they work however I do not understand how to use them.

For example something which appears to me to be a very trivial aspect of HS is I would like to ask HS via VR "what time is it" and have it reply. Also what is todays date.

If some one could explain this to me step by step, I should be able figure things out from there. This iformation might help shed some light on other things as well.

Another example of something I tried to get to work last night was very simple I am sure but has left me clueless.

I wanted HS to play a .wav file that I recorded. The recording was "Buddy" and named buddy. I set up an event, then a trigger Manual, VR comand "buddy" Then browsed to the file, I uploaded the .wav file "buddy" then update and save.