Can I use xAP for this?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can I use xAP for this?

I am developing some simple hardware with a Zigbee interface to control my apartment aircon units. Each unit will have a temp sensor for the room along with some IR based control etc. It will communicate with the PC over a Zigbee link that I am developing. I have a simple Zigbee to USB interface and plan to run some software on the PC to control it all but want to integrate with Homeseer.

I have thought about doing a plugin but I am not a big fan of Visual Basic and would rather do it under C++ and was wondering if I could use xAP to do this?

How easy is it to get going with xAP using C++ as a programming language (Borland C++ Builder) to allow me to control and display the temperatures in Homeseer? It looks quite simple but as a complete novice to xAP I am not sure how to start. Any pointers greatly appreciated.

Regards
    Dave...

Seems like xAP would be an appropriate route to take. You will need to establish a UDP connection over the LAN and send/receive simple ascii messages over this connection. The message consists of a header and body portion. You will be using two header formats. One is for heartbeat and the other is for data content. Your data messages can be whatever you want, but to maximize compatibility the Basic Status and Control (BSC) schema would be your best choice. You will send a BSC message whenever a change of device value occurs or when queried. If this is a 2-way interface then you will accept BSC command messages from Homeseer.

There are a few system design decisions that you will need to make the interface with HS as seemless as possible. When you get past the basics and more information is available about your hardware then this step can be taken