www.homeseer.com  
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Audio & Video Support > Infrared Controller Plug-Ins > Global Cache GC100/iTach

Global Cache GC100/iTach Discussions related to the HomeSeer Global Cache Plug-In for GC-100 and iTach controllers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 10th, 2009, 09:13 AM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default GC100 using serial to control Pioneer Receiver

Is anyone using the GC100 and Homeseer to control a Pioneer receiver via Serial?

Is anyone using the serial connection at all? If so, could you post some instructions on how to configure and ideally and example script.

I have the RS232 guide for my Pioneer, I now need to figure out the script syntax and how to trigger it from HSPRO

Any help much appreciated

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 17th, 2009, 08:05 AM
mbrett's Avatar
mbrett mbrett is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, Ny
Posts: 323
Default

Hi Jon,

I also have a pioneer amp. I just got my GC100 yesterday, still trying to figure this thing out. Dosent seem so easy. I am having problems downloading the GC IR Learner file. The docs for this thing seem to stink.
I am slowly fumbiling through the IR side of things as well.

I would love to know what you came up with for your Pioneer script, if anything. otherwise maybe we can work on one together.

let me know your thoughts.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 17th, 2009, 08:09 AM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default

Hi MBrett,
You are right - the GC100 plugin and docs are not very user friendly at all - its taken me a few weeks to even get the basics figured out. Kenm has really been a great help and explained the script side of things to me (which is not really connected to the GC-100 at all), but I can help you achieve what I have got to which is:

Using COM port redirection software to use the serial ports on the GC100 to control a Pioneer Amp via RS232

Using the GC-IRL to learn commands to control a Pioneer plasma via IR

Both are working now, so let me know what area you want to attack first.

What model Pioneer receiver do you have?

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 17th, 2009, 08:18 AM
mbrett's Avatar
mbrett mbrett is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, Ny
Posts: 323
Default

Jon,

thanks for the quickie..

Would you be able to send me the script you have I might be able to search through it and change it to meet my needs. Model Amp is the Pioneer VSX-92-TXH.

Also I have a Panasonic projector I will be looking to control as well. of course much more limited commands, like just on and off.

Any pointers for the IR side of things?

Any reason why people are just posting and sharing their scripts?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 17th, 2009, 08:30 AM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default

Hi, Attached is the script for the Pioneer VSX-82TXS. I can't take the credit for it - KenM wrote it for me based on the protocol document that can be found here

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pi..._Protocols.pdf

The thread for our learnings on this matter is here

http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=123350

Also, for your IR, I might be telling you the long way round, but this is what I did. First, delete anything you have made already (in terms of GC100 config) as it confused me when I was troubleshooting. Create the device and add the IP address.

Then create your IR zone, So if you have a Pioneer Plasma to control, make a zone called Pioneer plasma, and (depending on what model GC100 you have), determine the module and device connector. If its the GC-12 or 18, then you have device modules at location 4 and 5, and you have three connectors on each module. So if the first device you want to control is on the left most IR socket, then this is module 4 connector 1.

Now, I assume you have the GC-IRL. Assuming you want to use the GC100 to get the IR codes, you need to use a peice of software called Lantronix to redirect your COM calls to the IP address of the GC100. Lantronix can be found here. Ensure you use v3 not v4.

http://ltxfaq.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/l...hp?p_faqid=928

Set it up so that COM7 is redirected to yourgc100IPaddress and port 4999, so in my case it was 10.0.1.6:4999. You also need to change the port settings in Lantronix to Raw Mode for it to work.

Now, dowload the GC-IRL IR Learner utility from Global Cache web site and you should be able to talk to the GC-IRL plugged in the first serial port on the GC. Once it connects, let me know and I will explain the next bit.

Jon
Attached Files
File Type: txt Pioneer.txt (10.5 KB, 82 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 18th, 2009, 09:02 AM
mbrett's Avatar
mbrett mbrett is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, Ny
Posts: 323
Default

Jon,

sorry for the delay.. had some work around the house to do yesterday.

I have been looking over all of these docs and here are my thoughts.
1) first I need to get the GCIRL.. either I will make one today or order it. the reason I didnt buy it is because I already have ALL of my codes by device in a DB for USBUIRT and I was hopeing I could use those and convert them. it seems to be a little difficult even though I found a GC-CCF converter..
2) it seems that you guys are using the pioneer.TXT script to track the changes and status of the AMP only, not use it to send commands as well. (is this correct?)
3) the redirector get installed on the PC with HS?
4) yes I have the GC12-18. I got the module thing figured out as to which is which..
5) I will delete the plugin from HS shortly and start over as you described.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 18th, 2009, 10:08 AM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default

Hi Mbrett,

1) You will only need a GC-IRL to control IR devices, you can get the Pioneer working via serial without this. I control my receiver by serial and my plasma by IR. I tried to avoid buying a GC-IRL but couldn't get the codes in the right format - now I have one it worked immediately.

2) The Pioneer.txt script checks the status, but you can use it to send a command - e.g. &hs.RunEx "Pioneer.txt", "SendCommand", "PF" added as a script call in an event would turn the receiver off. The receiver would then respond with a status update which will update the device status is HS. You should be able to control all Pioneer functions this way (once I have added all the other features to the script - its slow work but I did some yesterday.

3) The redirector needs to be installed manually, HS does not install it. GC-100 does have some built in redirection for serial, but I can't understand the manual to get it working - this method works regardless of the GC100 with any COM device. For now I will stick with it, maybe in the future I will understand the GC-100 better, but as you say the docs are lousy.

Good luck - it takes some time but it works reliably once set up - and I learnt a great deal getting there

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 18th, 2009, 11:21 AM
mbrett's Avatar
mbrett mbrett is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, Ny
Posts: 323
Default

Thanks Jon,

I was just reading the thread between you and ken, WOW chock full of info.. I have a much better understanding now of how this entire thing works.

I am going to order the GCIRL tomorrow so that I can get my other devices up and working. and will play with the scripts in the meantime for the serial.

I am currently using Homseer and Mainlobby together to get the same function that I hope to have from Homseer alone. with the addition of HST, it seems to be much more responsive and userfrienldy. The only problem is of course rebuilding everything that has been working reliably (but slowly) for a few years now.

my current setup is Homeseer on one computer with the ML Server and then another computer in my theater running ML Server again to execute remote commands on the equipment. My goal is to eliminate the computer in the theater completely and replace it with the GC to execute IR and Serial commands on the projector and the Pioneer Amp.

I don't expect it to happen overnight, however I am a little disappointed at the GC, I expected it to be a little more user friendly, and the HS plugin seems to be a BEAR... My fault I, should have looked and dont the research before I leaped.. there are enough frustrated people out there that I am sure I would have stumbled across a thread or two.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 18th, 2009, 11:32 AM
tmcgowan's Avatar
tmcgowan tmcgowan is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grosse Ile, Michigan
Posts: 962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nojstevens View Post
Is anyone using the GC100 and Homeseer to control a Pioneer receiver via Serial?

Is anyone using the serial connection at all? If so, could you post some instructions on how to configure and ideally and example script.

I have the RS232 guide for my Pioneer, I now need to figure out the script syntax and how to trigger it from HSPRO

Any help much appreciated

Jon
Hello Jon,

I use my GC100 to control our Sony CX777ES 400 DVD changer via the RS232 port. It works as advertised, however it is going through the CX777 Plug-in from the downloader. I use the IR ports to control everything else, including our Sharp TV, Sony AV/Tuner and TiVo HD Cable Tuner.

I know this doesn't help your Pioneer issue, but at least you know the GC100 RS232 functionaly does work with the current version of HS. You may want to contact the person who developed the plug-in for the Sony changer to see if he'd lend some support for your application.
__________________
-Todd

____________________________________________________________ ________________
HS2Pro: 2.5.0.81 :: HS3Pro (beta) || Plugins:| SmartHome PowerLinc USB, Global Cache, BLBackup, DooCPU Monitor, DooMotion, BLOutlook, BLIcon, BLOutgoingCalls, OutgoingCalls, ROC-Rnd, HSTouch iPhone, UPS Monitor, DooMenuBar, BLSpeech, HSTouch Server, WAF AB8SS, mcsTemperature, VWS, BLChart, RFXCOM, ISY Insteon, iAutomate RFID, iTunes, NetCAM, DSC Security, Nest
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 18th, 2009, 11:57 AM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default

Thanks Todd - I have it working now - Kenm helped me modify the Denon script to work with the Pioneer protocol. I am using the GC100 serial port to connect, but not really the GC100 plugin to manage the communication - the documentation is a bit beyond me. I am simply portredirecting COM7 to 10.0.1.6:4999 and then using standard COM calls.

Working very nicely though - thanks for your input

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 18th, 2009, 12:01 PM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbrett View Post
Thanks Jon,

I was just reading the thread between you and ken, WOW chock full of info.. I have a much better understanding now of how this entire thing works.

I am going to order the GCIRL tomorrow so that I can get my other devices up and working. and will play with the scripts in the meantime for the serial.

I am currently using Homseer and Mainlobby together to get the same function that I hope to have from Homseer alone. with the addition of HST, it seems to be much more responsive and userfrienldy. The only problem is of course rebuilding everything that has been working reliably (but slowly) for a few years now.

my current setup is Homeseer on one computer with the ML Server and then another computer in my theater running ML Server again to execute remote commands on the equipment. My goal is to eliminate the computer in the theater completely and replace it with the GC to execute IR and Serial commands on the projector and the Pioneer Amp.

I don't expect it to happen overnight, however I am a little disappointed at the GC, I expected it to be a little more user friendly, and the HS plugin seems to be a BEAR... My fault I, should have looked and dont the research before I leaped.. there are enough frustrated people out there that I am sure I would have stumbled across a thread or two.
mbrett,

I am in the process of migrating from Indigo on the mac to HSPRO - slow process but the capabilities of HS compared to Indigo are vast. Really enjoying the process. I've seen a few people refer to MainLobby, but I'm not sure I understand its use - can everything MainLobby does be done in HSPRO?

I agree - the GC is a good device but is let down by documentation and a plugin that is not really that easy to understand. The Global Cache web site doesn't help much either. Out of all the devices I have integrated in the last month, GC has taken more of my time than anything else, only now am I starting to understand how it works, and as for serial use, i've abandoned trying to use the GC plugin and am simply using COM calls.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 18th, 2009, 03:41 PM
kenm kenm is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 459
Default

Jon, Michael,

Let me know if you need any help with your serial control scripts. I have 7 ethernet-serial adapters (Tibbo and Sena Tech) running using comport redirection and I've found them to be very reliable. I've only had a single command failure in the 5 months I've been using this method.

I have a separate control network in my house that has only the serial adapters on it with the following:

- Sharp Aquos LCD TV
- Denon AVR-4308CI
- Aprilaire (Enerzone) Statnet thermostats
- Temp05 1-wire sensor network
- Custom 32 zone irrigation controller (based on Ontrak ADR-2200)
- Custom 16 zone landscape lighting controller (based on Ontrak ADR-2200)
- Custom security system (custom panel plus Ontrak AVR-8000 video mux)

I've written a number of HS plugins over time but I'm finding it much more rewarding to write scripts that folks can learn from and modify to fit their needs. If you'd like to see some functionality added to the basic control script let me know.

Also, If someone can post the help file for the GC-100 plug-in (you can't get to it without installing the plug-in) I'd be happy to look at supporting serial communication through the plug-in without having to do the comport redirection.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 18th, 2009, 04:04 PM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenm View Post
Jon, Michael,

Let me know if you need any help with your serial control scripts. I have 7 ethernet-serial adapters (Tibbo and Sena Tech) running using comport redirection and I've found them to be very reliable. I've only had a single command failure in the 5 months I've been using this method.

I have a separate control network in my house that has only the serial adapters on it with the following:

- Sharp Aquos LCD TV
- Denon AVR-4308CI
- Aprilaire (Enerzone) Statnet thermostats
- Temp05 1-wire sensor network
- Custom 32 zone irrigation controller (based on Ontrak ADR-2200)
- Custom 16 zone landscape lighting controller (based on Ontrak ADR-2200)
- Custom security system (custom panel plus Ontrak AVR-8000 video mux)

I've written a number of HS plugins over time but I'm finding it much more rewarding to write scripts that folks can learn from and modify to fit their needs. If you'd like to see some functionality added to the basic control script let me know.

Also, If someone can post the help file for the GC-100 plug-in (you can't get to it without installing the plug-in) I'd be happy to look at supporting serial communication through the plug-in without having to do the comport redirection.

Ken
Hi Kenm

The closest manual I have found to being understandable is here:

http://www.homeseer.com/pdfs/guides/...che_Plugin.pdf

I understand the IR bits but the serial bits go straight over my head. I think it assumes some vb knowledge, which I don't have (yet)

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 18th, 2009, 06:51 PM
mbrett's Avatar
mbrett mbrett is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, Ny
Posts: 323
Default

Hey Ken,

I am very impressed by your list of equipment being controlled by serial, and embarrased at the same time.

Any thoughts to devloping a generic serial plugin that would utilize a database so that the user can enter the data for any device?

I would love some help and guidance on getting this done.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old February 1st, 2009, 07:56 AM
mbrett's Avatar
mbrett mbrett is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, Ny
Posts: 323
Default

Hey Guys,

any updates with this.. I still have not gotten my GC working with with Serial stuff yet.. Not that I have really spent that much time on it either, but I was just wondering if there will be easier solution any time soon.

MB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old February 1st, 2009, 08:02 AM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbrett View Post
Hey Guys,

any updates with this.. I still have not gotten my GC working with with Serial stuff yet.. Not that I have really spent that much time on it either, but I was just wondering if there will be easier solution any time soon.

MB
The easiest way is to redirect your serial port - I've had a few issues with my GC plugin and have corresponded on the helpdesk - the GC plug in is quite old and is known to need some work, however, the message I got is that the serial stuff will still need the same scripting interface. From my point of view, and on their advice, the COM port redirection using Lantronix (v3) is the easiest way to use GC with serial connections. Let me know if you need any help getting it set up - it takes a bit to get working, but once it is it is reliable.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old February 1st, 2009, 12:05 PM
kenm kenm is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbrett View Post
Hey Ken,

I am very impressed by your list of equipment being controlled by serial, and embarrased at the same time.

Any thoughts to devloping a generic serial plugin that would utilize a database so that the user can enter the data for any device?

I would love some help and guidance on getting this done.

thanks
Hi Michael,

Sorry for the late reply. I must have missed the notification email.

Anyway, I looked into writing a generic serial plug-in awhile back and instead decided just to work on a generic serial script and make the script available to anyone who wants to use it. Making a plug-in that configures a device based on a database would be a lot of work and would be very sensitive to protocol syntax, etc. Another problem with a plug-in is it limits the user's ability to "tweek" the serial communication to fit the particular device or protocol so the user doesn't get to learn anything so they have little troubleshooting ability if something goes wrong.

When Jon posted the GC plug-in documentation I looked into writing a serial script to control devices via the GC-100 but it turns out it would be almost the same as the scripts I have now but it would use GC plug-in calls so it would only work with the serial ports on a GC. Jon's method of using a comport re-director and making the serial port on the GC-100 look like a standard comport appears to be working well for him so I'd suggest you try to get that setup and working.

I can certainly help you with any serial scripting you want to do.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old February 2nd, 2009, 09:34 PM
mbrett's Avatar
mbrett mbrett is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, Ny
Posts: 323
Default

Hey, Its me again.

I am ready to throw this GC thingy out the window.. For the life of me I cant figure out the com port piece of it.

1) I installed the lantronix software on my homeseer pc
2) I setup the ip address of the GC with a port of 4999
3) I copied the Pioneer.txt file to homeseer scripts directory.
4) I setup a few devices r1,r2,r3 etc.
Now WHAT?

and did I miss anything above?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old February 3rd, 2009, 12:39 AM
kenm kenm is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 459
Default

Michael,

I'm not the lantronix expert, that would be Jon, but maybe I can give you enough to keep you moving along.

When you installed the lantronix software did it create a comport? Is so, make a note of the comport number. If not, we'll need Jon's help in figuring out what the comport number is.

Once you've got a comport number, edit the Pioneer.txt script and look for a line the contains "Const port = x" and change "x" to the comport number for the lantronix.

Then look for a line the contains " Const hc = "x" " and set that to your housecode. It looks like you've created some devices with "r".

You should then be able to create an event that runs a script and run this immediate script command: &hs.RunEx "Pioneer.txt","SendCommand", "?P"

You should see a response of either PWR0 or PWR1 in the HS log.

Let me know if this helps,
Ken

PS. You should take a look at the thread that Jon and I worked on a couple of weeks ago as it has a lot of the details in it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old February 3rd, 2009, 01:41 PM
nojstevens nojstevens is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbrett View Post
Hey, Its me again.

I am ready to throw this GC thingy out the window.. For the life of me I cant figure out the com port piece of it.

1) I installed the lantronix software on my homeseer pc
2) I setup the ip address of the GC with a port of 4999
3) I copied the Pioneer.txt file to homeseer scripts directory.
4) I setup a few devices r1,r2,r3 etc.
Now WHAT?

and did I miss anything above?
Hi mbrett,

My first question would be have you ticked the RAW mode setting in Lantronix prefs? You need to do this for it to work. Also, are you using the v3 not the v4 - I could not get v4 to work and GC recommend v3.

When you launch HS, do you get a dialog saying 'Opening COM port etc etc'

If you do, then I suggest that you refer to the thread where kenm was guiding me on getting the COM link working and we make a simple event to 'Open COM port to Pioneer' and 'Close COM port to Pioneer'. This should confirm that the computer is actually opening the COM port and talking to the receiver.

Try this and let us know the results

Jon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 AM.

Untitled Document
NEW!
New How-To's
New Products

HomeSeer Z-Troller"
MyHomeSeer-Connect Service

Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC