www.homeseer.com  
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer International Forums and User Groups > International User Groups > Scotland

Scotland User groups in Scotland.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 26th, 2009, 05:05 PM
MalcolmS's Avatar
MalcolmS MalcolmS is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland, UK
Posts: 470
Default LEDs

the new LED strip lights i put under the kitchen cabinets are about the only lights not controlled by HS. What can I use to switch them?

These are the lamps I went for. I have two 4.5w and 1 8w strips.
__________________
Malcolm
My HS Website

HomeSeer HSPro (v2.5.0.52) with HSPhone; AC RF Processor (v1.2.0.3); ActiveBackup (v2.0.0.26); X10 CM11A/CM12U (v2.1.2363.27042); dasCID (v0.3.0.1); DooCPU Monitor (v2.1.23.0); DooMenuBar (v2.3.0.4); DooMotion (v2.2.89.0); DooNetwork (v2.2.9.0); mcsTemperature (v5.5.2.0); Touchpad (v2.0.0.23); UltraLog (v1.0.2607.31806), BackeRupp; W800RF32A; Meteor; Z-Wave and Temp05
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 27th, 2009, 10:37 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 4,342
Default

From what I have read there they are mains, so any X10/Other switch module should work.

You'll struggle to dim them properly as LEDs require a different method of dimming.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 27th, 2009, 12:12 PM
Gogs's Avatar
Gogs Gogs is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kirkliston, Scotland, GB
Posts: 4,248
Default

I have successfully dimmed diacroic LED 12V lamps with a lamp module, but have never tried dimming mains LED's.

I would have thought though the principle may be the same as I presume there is a transformer build into the fitting.
__________________

A founder member of "The HA Pioneer Group" otherwise known as the "Old farts club!"
HS Pro V2.5.0.76, HS Touch Server V1.0.0.77 on a Foxcon Atom D525
DooMotion V2.4.0.0, DooMenuBar V2.4.0.5 X10 Interphase XTB 232
RFXCom V14.00.67, RFX-Charts V1.1.0.10. SNEVL CID V1.29.10, SNEVL Latitude V2.6. Btraced V1.1.4, and a lot of Jon00 stuff
BLBackup V1.0.20, BLGarbage1.0.5.0
My Weather Station
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 27th, 2009, 02:36 PM
TechnoJunkie's Avatar
TechnoJunkie TechnoJunkie is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brigadoon, Scotland
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gogs View Post

I would have thought though the principle may be the same as I presume there is a transformer build into the fitting.

Hmmm...I've had a look at the PDF and I think it's more likely to be a small switchmode PSU, which means the chances are they won't dim.

I agree that any appliance type module should work though.


Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 PM.

Untitled Document
NEW!
New How-To's
New Products

HomeSeer Z-Troller"
MyHomeSeer-Connect Service

Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC