www.homeseer.com  
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Z-Wave General Discussion

Z-Wave General Discussion Discussions relating to the Z-Wave automation support in HomeSeer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 29th, 2012, 10:18 PM
Otis Otis is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Port Washington, NY
Posts: 127
Default Still no z-wave smoke detectors or CO detectors?

Strange that nobody seems to have made these things yet in the US. Seems like this would be a no-brainer to add to a Z-wave network -- you could monitor alarm triggers, trigger remote alerts if the alarms are tripped, monitor battery levels, etc.

What am I missing here? Why has nobody done this? I saw one or two that supposedly were made for the EU version of z-wave, but still nothing in the US?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 30th, 2012, 10:07 AM
bcham bcham is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East
Posts: 13
Default

My guess would be that most manufacturers want to avoid the liability of producing a life safety device that could get them sued into oblivion.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 1st, 2012, 10:09 PM
Otis Otis is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Port Washington, NY
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcham View Post
My guess would be that most manufacturers want to avoid the liability of producing a life safety device that could get them sued into oblivion.
Other companies make regular smoke alarms. :shrug:

Why not just build Zwave features into a regular one?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 12th, 2012, 12:56 PM
rrepic's Avatar
rrepic rrepic is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otis View Post
Strange that nobody seems to have made these things yet in the US. Seems like this would be a no-brainer to add to a Z-wave network -- you could monitor alarm triggers, trigger remote alerts if the alarms are tripped, monitor battery levels, etc.

What am I missing here? Why has nobody done this? I saw one or two that supposedly were made for the EU version of z-wave, but still nothing in the US?

I thought 2GIG made zwave smoke and CO2 devices???

-Ray
__________________
_________________________________________
- Ray

HS ServerG4: HS2.5.0.23, Foxconn (Atom 510)-4Gb-Win7Pro32b-2.5" HD hot swap-WHS backup
Hardware: CM111A, W800USB, ZStick2, CS WiFi, Rain8NetPro
Plugins: mcsSprinklersPro, ACRF2, HAI, tstat, Ultramon
Video: BlueIris, 4xFoscamIP
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 12th, 2012, 07:58 PM
AllanMar AllanMar is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, NS
Posts: 34
Default

The 2GIG stuff is deceiving. Their panel supports Z-Wave but doesn't use it for most of their devices (such as the smoke/co detectors.) They look exactly like the Honeywell/Ademco wireless detectors, which may explain why they recently settled a patent infringement suit with Honeywell. It's unclear if the panel is fully compatible with honeywell or not.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 13th, 2012, 04:31 AM
dinkme dinkme is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south
Posts: 48
Default

Does it need to be zwave?

Right now I am doing all you ask with CO/smoke detectors with homeseer, ademco vista plugin, a Honeywell vista 20p security panel, ad2usb, 5800CO co detector, and 5808W3 smoke detector. It can be done now, just not with zwave.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 18th, 2012, 04:22 PM
Otis Otis is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Port Washington, NY
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinkme View Post
Does it need to be zwave?

Right now I am doing all you ask with CO/smoke detectors with homeseer, ademco vista plugin, a Honeywell vista 20p security panel, ad2usb, 5800CO co detector, and 5808W3 smoke detector. It can be done now, just not with zwave.
I guess that's doable, but Z-wave devices would just be a whole lot easier.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 18th, 2012, 05:46 PM
megatron2 megatron2 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 206
Default

I am not sure how the security system smoke detectors work. If they just provide a contact closure when they alarm could you then just use a z-wave door/window contact detection module to accomplish what you want? Does anyone have experience with security system smokes?
__________________
Jeremy
Upgrade path: HS2 2.3.0.19 > HSPRO 2.3.0.86
|| Plug-ins: HSTouch (1.0.0.10) | W800 (2.1) | DSC (1.1.2637.23355) || Scripts: Jon00 Webpage Builder | Jon00 AppControl | Rover
HW: Mini-ITX Atom dual core 1.6 GHz (WinXP SP3) | WGL800 | Z-Troller (v1.12) | ELK800 Amp (ELK Echo Speakers) |
Various Intermatic Z-wave modules, many DS10, Hawkeyes
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 19th, 2012, 12:26 AM
dinkme dinkme is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south
Posts: 48
Default

I think megatron has the right idea. Wire a zwave contact closure to the bells on the smoke detector. Kinda like people do with doorbells and contact closure devices. I included a thread to something along these lines.

http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=131631
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.

Untitled Document
NEW!
New How-To's
New Products

HomeSeer Z-Troller"
MyHomeSeer-Connect Service

Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC