www.homeseer.com  
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > RF General Discussion > RFXCOM Plug-In (3P)

RFXCOM Plug-In (3P) Discussion area for the RFXCOM 3rd party plug-in.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 9th, 2013, 03:14 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lucan, ON Canada
Posts: 4,656
Default RFXCOM antenna suggestions

I am in need of a better antenna for my RFXCOM Rfxrec433 receiver.

I would like to hear what others are using.
Thanks
__________________
Cheers,
Bob
Web site | Help Desk | Feature Requests | Message Board
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 9th, 2013, 03:43 PM
tonlof's Avatar
tonlof tonlof is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Koping,Sweden
Posts: 788
Default

Hi Blade, I'm using below antenna and It's working perfect for me.
http://www.conrad.com/ce/en/product/...omSuggest=true
http://www.conrad.com/ce/en/product/...-to-BNC-socket
__________________
Please excuse any spelling and grammatical errors I may make.
--
Tonlof | Sweden
HS Pro, Win 7 64bit, MySQL, Asus Sabertoth I7, 16Gb Ram 6 x 300Gb raid5, Velleman K8055 , TEMP05 V5.00, DS9097, 1Wire Dallas weatherstation, HS PCI Modem, Basic Stamp for I/O, AVS-8X8, Popcorn Hour C-200.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 9th, 2013, 04:10 PM
JimBob's Avatar
JimBob JimBob is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonlof View Post
+1

Much improved range with this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 9th, 2013, 04:11 PM
Jakob.Sand's Avatar
Jakob.Sand Jakob.Sand is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Karlebo
Posts: 416
Default

I tried the suggested antenna(and use it on my attic) but I have also concluded that it is better to buy more RFX receivers instead of trying to make the exsisting antenna and RFX receiver work longer range.

Ie. if it is on the limit of what can be received it feels more relieable to add another RFX and get good readings all the time.

I have 6 RFXs currently...
__________________
Best,
Jakob Sand, I automate everything!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 9th, 2013, 04:57 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lucan, ON Canada
Posts: 4,656
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakob.Sand View Post
I tried the suggested antenna(and use it on my attic) but I have also concluded that it is better to buy more RFX receivers instead of trying to make the exsisting antenna and RFX receiver work longer range.

Ie. if it is on the limit of what can be received it feels more relieable to add another RFX and get good readings all the time.

I have 6 RFXs currently...
So you are using 6 receivers. WOW
Do you have long extended cables spreading them out across the house. Are they all plugged into your HS machine?
__________________
Cheers,
Bob
Web site | Help Desk | Feature Requests | Message Board
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 9th, 2013, 05:27 PM
Jakob.Sand's Avatar
Jakob.Sand Jakob.Sand is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Karlebo
Posts: 416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
So you are using 6 receivers. WOW
Do you have long extended cables spreading them out across the house. Are they all plugged into your HS machine?
They are lan versions all of them.
__________________
Best,
Jakob Sand, I automate everything!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 9th, 2013, 05:51 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lucan, ON Canada
Posts: 4,656
Default

Wow the LAN version is more than double the RFXrec433 receiver I just bought. Too much for the few sensors I will have here.
I will look into an antenna
__________________
Cheers,
Bob
Web site | Help Desk | Feature Requests | Message Board
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 10th, 2013, 01:07 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 9,011
Default

This is the antenna that I use for the W800 which should work for the RFXrec433 receiver in the same way.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103641
__________________
- Pete

Homeseer User
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 19th, 2013, 04:23 PM
vanisher vanisher is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nederland
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonlof View Post
Where did you place the antenna, i have some WAF problems when i buy that one.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 19th, 2013, 04:33 PM
tonlof's Avatar
tonlof tonlof is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Koping,Sweden
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanisher View Post
Where did you place the antenna, i have some WAF problems when i buy that one.
Haha, we have concluded a deal, my wife gets free hand to manage the rest of the interior and purchasing.
__________________
Please excuse any spelling and grammatical errors I may make.
--
Tonlof | Sweden
HS Pro, Win 7 64bit, MySQL, Asus Sabertoth I7, 16Gb Ram 6 x 300Gb raid5, Velleman K8055 , TEMP05 V5.00, DS9097, 1Wire Dallas weatherstation, HS PCI Modem, Basic Stamp for I/O, AVS-8X8, Popcorn Hour C-200.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old September 19th, 2013, 06:59 PM
Uncle Michael's Avatar
Uncle Michael Uncle Michael is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 3,721
Default

This one looks to be a cost effective option.
http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...0Antennas&sku=
__________________
Mike____________________________________________________________ __________________
HSPro 2.5.0.80

PIs: ACRF2 | VWS | Ultra Mon, Log, ECM | BL RFID, Rusound, Alarm, Backup | PowerTrigger | NetCam | UPB | mcsXap | SqueezeBox | HSTouch | Compose | CM11 |
WeatherXML | HSPhone | jvCaddx

HW: Stargate | CAV6.6 | Compose | WGL 800RF, Rain8Net | RFXCOM | Quatech QSE100D | Vantage Pro | ECM1240 | XTB-232, -IIR | Edgeport/8 | Way2Call

Jon00 Scripts, mcsSprinklers, gnuPlot

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 19th, 2013, 07:31 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lucan, ON Canada
Posts: 4,656
Default

I used one from radio shack and man what a difference. Working perfectly.

Thanks
__________________
Cheers,
Bob
Web site | Help Desk | Feature Requests | Message Board
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 19th, 2013, 08:03 PM
TeleFragger's Avatar
TeleFragger TeleFragger is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 4,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
I used one from radio shack and man what a difference. Working perfectly.

Thanks
which one??
__________________
Dell Optiplex 745==> Xeon X3220 | 8gb ram O/S==> Windows Server 2012 Essentials R2

Homeseer==> 3.0.0.46/54/55/68/96 Pro
Plug-Ins Enabled==> BLBackup - 2.0.14.0|BLLAN - 2.0.16.0|BLRF - 2.0.61.0|Concord 3.0.1.11|HSTouch - 3.0.0.42|RFXCOM - 30.0.0.22|WeatherXML - 3.0.0.7|X10- 3.0.0.28|Z-Wave- 3.0.0.158

Non HS Plugins==>

Waiting for==>
GearHouse Club Savings==> $2.50
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old September 19th, 2013, 08:41 PM
JeffCharger's Avatar
JeffCharger JeffCharger is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
Wow the LAN version is more than double the RFXrec433 receiver I just bought. Too much for the few sensors I will have here.
I will look into an antenna
Have you considered a booster after the antenna? I do this with my W800 and it works well.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 24th, 2013, 06:35 AM
Dafunktyfunk's Avatar
Dafunktyfunk Dafunktyfunk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Side
Posts: 1,255
Default Re: RFXCOM antenna suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
I used one from radio shack and man what a difference. Working perfectly.

Thanks
Which one?

I have w800s that I also need to boost ranges on so am very interested in whatever I can use on both to boost reception.
__________________
Hometroller S3 Pro - WinXPEmbedded - HSP 2.5.0.81 - BLStat - HSPhone - HSTouch Srvr 1.0.0.73 - Touchpad - BLLan - BLOccupied - DSC Plug 2.0.0.14 - BLStat .38
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old September 24th, 2013, 07:25 AM
TeleFragger's Avatar
TeleFragger TeleFragger is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 4,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafunktyfunk View Post
Which one?

I have w800s that I also need to boost ranges on so am very interested in whatever I can use on both to boost reception.
I wonder if something like this would work for you.
I use it on my cable tv.. has done WONDERS!!!!!!!!

they sell one without the phone/cable modem boost.. so it is 7 amplified and 1 bypass....

http://www.amazon.com/Bi-Directional...ble+tv+booster


all 8 ports boosted...
http://www.amazon.com/Bi-Directional...ble+tv+booster
__________________
Dell Optiplex 745==> Xeon X3220 | 8gb ram O/S==> Windows Server 2012 Essentials R2

Homeseer==> 3.0.0.46/54/55/68/96 Pro
Plug-Ins Enabled==> BLBackup - 2.0.14.0|BLLAN - 2.0.16.0|BLRF - 2.0.61.0|Concord 3.0.1.11|HSTouch - 3.0.0.42|RFXCOM - 30.0.0.22|WeatherXML - 3.0.0.7|X10- 3.0.0.28|Z-Wave- 3.0.0.158

Non HS Plugins==>

Waiting for==>
GearHouse Club Savings==> $2.50
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old September 24th, 2013, 07:28 AM
JeffCharger's Avatar
JeffCharger JeffCharger is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafunktyfunk View Post
Which one?

I have w800s that I also need to boost ranges on so am very interested in whatever I can use on both to boost reception.
Here's a link to the antenna I built years ago. It has worked very well attached to my W800!

http://cocoontech.com/forums/topic/1...eiver/?pid=678
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old September 24th, 2013, 07:40 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 9,011
Default

Here I utilize the PCT amps for OTA and Cable. I have no issues with them at all.

I have a regular older (large) OTA antenna mounted in the attic. I did have some issues with a few OTA HD channels (here more than 60 today) and the OTA amplifier made it such that I could get all of the broadcasts; being some 25-30 miles southwest of the city (source). I also backfeed SD channels into the OTA in feeds such that a regular LCD TV using the RF antenna connection gets all of the broadcast OTA plus the backfeeds inhouse stuff which works for me.

There are a few users on the forum that utilize the antenna mentioned above for more than one device via a splitter and I think they do not have any issues doing that.

I have a large attic such that I have the antennas ground plane inverted on pictured antennas (upsidedown). They are mounted on cut PVC tubing from the attic rafters down. 2nd antenna is for a cheaper RFID device; its in the attic with a long RS-232 cat5e wire down to the basement. I have a second cheaperRFID device and antenna inside of my sprinkler box in the garage. It is also connected via a long RS-232 cable to the basement comm area. I have also played with a 3rd W800/cheaperRFID device mounted in the basement with a separate antenna. These are on/off mainly to play with.

My attic has about an 8 foot or more height and there is a lot of "play" room up there. That said I did build catwalks and areas for storage plus adding lighting / electric before infrastucture wiring went in.

I also added a second W800 / antenna on the main floor of the house. It is the original small antenna which came with the W800.

It is buried in a wall close to an inwall speaker. Most if not all of the RF reception though does come from the attic mounted antenna.

Even inverted though it works well outside for my Palmpad for the manual on and off of the sprinkler system.

More than likely having this stuff / antenna in the attic is probably all you would need; IE: just one device. I have tested this by shutting off the 2nd and 3rd devices leaving the ones using the attic antenna and they work just fine. Response times are very good.
__________________
- Pete

Homeseer User

Last edited by Pete; September 24th, 2013 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old September 24th, 2013, 07:43 AM
Dafunktyfunk's Avatar
Dafunktyfunk Dafunktyfunk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Side
Posts: 1,255
Default Re: RFXCOM antenna suggestions

Awesome, thanks guys!

No to find brass rods and someone who can solder... lol
__________________
Hometroller S3 Pro - WinXPEmbedded - HSP 2.5.0.81 - BLStat - HSPhone - HSTouch Srvr 1.0.0.73 - Touchpad - BLLan - BLOccupied - DSC Plug 2.0.0.14 - BLStat .38
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old September 24th, 2013, 08:14 AM
b_weijenberg b_weijenberg is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,368
Default

a DIY ground plane antenna for 310MHz or 433.92MHz
Attached Images
File Type: pdf Assembly instructions Groundplane antenna.pdf (78.4 KB, 140 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unexpectedly excellent antenna setup with RFXCOM dhayner RF General Discussion 0 July 3rd, 2013 11:13 AM
RFXCOM errors on a device code which isnt being used by RFXCOM Dup RFXCOM Plug-In (3P) 3 April 14th, 2011 08:42 PM
Reading RFXCOM.mdb Data Into RFXCharts Without RFXCOM Plug-In... Dave Haig RFXCOM Plug-In (3P) 6 February 1st, 2009 01:23 PM
RFXCom Dual Frequency Receiver - Antenna Configuration? tmcgowan General Discussion Area 2 January 8th, 2008 07:28 AM
Antenna joeslat W800 RF Receiver (3P) 10 September 25th, 2005 11:09 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:30 PM.

Untitled Document
NEW!
New How-To's
New Products

HomeSeer Z-Troller"
MyHomeSeer-Connect Service

Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC